Laws of the Game

The Laws of the Game

The Laws of the Game (LOTG) are the rules that help define football. The Laws of the Game are the only rules of football set and written by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

The laws mention everything that defines football such as the number of players a team should have, the game length, the size of the field and ball, the type and nature of fouls that referees may penalise, the frequently misinterpreted offside law, and the other laws. It is the task of the referee to interpret and enforce the Laws of the Game during a football match.


The current Laws of the Game consist of seventeen individual laws, each law containing several rules and directions:

  • Law 1: The Field of Play
  • Law 2: The Ball
  • Law 3: The Players
  • Law 4: The Players’ Equipment
  • Law 5: The Referee
  • Law 6: The Other Match Officials
  • Law 7: The Duration of the Match
  • Law 8: The start and restart of play
  • Law 9: Ball in and out of play
  • Law 10: The Method of Scoring
  • Law 11: Offside
  • Law 12: Fouls and Misconduct
  • Law 13: Free kicks (direct and indirect)
  • Law 14: The Penalty Kick
  • Law 15: The Throw-in
  • Law 16: The Goal Kick
  • Law 17: The Corner Kick


You can download the latest revision of the Laws of the Game from the links below:

Comments (13)

13 thoughts on “Laws of the Game

  1. In my younger days I was both a coach and referee. At the time there were nine (9) laws. Can anyone tell me where I can read up on when, how and under what circumstances the extra 8 were added? I still watch lots of soccer and have noticed a few obvious changes (like the 4 step rule for goalies) but wonder about other things.

  2. Thanks. It will facilitate my learning the new changes in the laws of the game

Post Your Comments